Crabtree Junior School

Crabtree Junior School

Making A Difference

Blooms Taxonomy


What is Bloom's Taxonomy?
Bloom's Taxonomy is a classification of different objectives and skills that teachers set their students. Benjamin Bloom, an Educational Psychologist at the University of Chicago, came up with the system in 1956. Recently, the terminology was updated to include six levels of learning. These are: Remembering, Understanding, Applying, Analysing, Evaluating and Creating.

The hierarchical structure of Bloom's Taxonomy
The hierarchical nature of Bloom's Taxonomy means that higher-level learning is dependent on having gained the necessary knowledge and skills at lower levels. To demonstrate this, Bloom's Taxonomy is often depicted in a pyramid shape, with each level built on the foundations of the previous levels.